LRMHC Presents Community Awards at Annual Meeting

Each year, LRMHC presents the Helen Holbrook Leadership & Service Award at their Annual Meeting which is given to an individual who leads by example and gives of themselves to strengthen the cause of mental health in the Lakes Region. This year’s recipient was Elaine de Mello who has worked for NAMI NH for the past twenty years. She has served in many roles at NAMI NH, most notably playing a major role in the development of the Connect Suicide Prevention program and now serves as Director of the program. Connect began as a grass roots NH program and became a National Best Practice Program which has provided training in almost every state as well as in 40 tribal nations and six countries.

LRMHC also presented the Dr. George “Pete” Harris Community Service Award to Tammy Emery. “Her tireless involvement in promoting awareness and an improved quality of life for individuals and families in the Lakes Region are too numerous to mention, but a few include involvement with the Lakes Region Partnership for Public Health, New Beginnings, Greater Tilton Family Resource Center and the Greater Lakes Child Advocacy Center and Stand Up Laconia. Tammy is a regular presence and organizer at public forums related to mental health, substance misuse, domestic violence, and early childhood trauma. Her endless energy and passion have done a great deal to improve awareness, sensitivity, understanding and acceptance of mental health issues for individuals, families, service providers and our Lakes Region communities and she is very deserving of the Pete Harris award,” said Maggie Pritchard, CEO for Lakes Region Mental Health Center.